Previous Winners

TRAINEE AWARDS

Epilepsy Post Graduate Training Fellowship Award (for Clinical Fellows)

- 2010 Dewi Schrader
- 2011 Eric Payne
- 2012 Myriam Pétrin
- 2013 Maria Siddiqi
- 2014 Nita Dragos
- 2015 Trevor Steve
- 2016 Syed Ali Abbas Rizvi | Kristin Ikeda
- 2017 Nicholas Cothros | Seok Jun Hong | Maryam Nabavi Nouri
- 2018 Alireza Mansouri
- 2019 Caroline Just | Salini Thulasirajal
- 2020 Laura Gill | Paul Lessard Bonaventure
- 2021 Yonatan Serlin

Publication Awards

Resident Award (Mary Anne Lee Award) - A resident in Neurology (adult or pediatric) or Neurosurgery conducting epilepsy related research.

- 2013 Colin Josephson
- 2014 Syed Rizvi
- 2015 Ken Myers
- 2016 Alexandra Voll
- 2017 Nicholas Cothros
- 2018 Jonathan Lau
- 2019 Not Awarded
- 2020 Karim Mithani
- 2022 Sarah Buttle

Fellow or Post-Doc Award - A Fellow in adult/pediatric Neurology or Neurosurgery conducting epilepsy related research.

- 2013 Demitre Serletis
- 2014 Not Awarded
- 2015 Maged Goubran
- 2016 Boris Bernhardt
- 2017 Syed Ali Abbas Rizvi
- 2018 Kingsley Ibhazehiebo
- 2019 Qi (Helen) Xu
- 2020 Natalie Phillips
- 2021 Felippe Borlot
- 2022 Miguel Arevalo-Astrada

Graduate Student or Medical Student Award - A graduate student or a medical student conducting epilepsy related research.

- 2013 Kirsten Fiest
- 2014 Khara Sauro
- 2015 Seok- Jun Hong
- 2016 Jodie Roberts
- 2017 Jordan Farrell
- 2018 Marna McKenzie
- 2019 Jack Lam | Elie Bou Assi
- 2020 Laura Gagliano
- 2021 Sara Larivière
- 2022 Daniele Wolf

Allied Health Student Award - An allied health professional student (e.g. nursing, psychology, social work) conducting epilepsy related research

- 2015 Natalie Wiebe
- 2016 Not Awarded
- 2017 Lauryn Conway
- 2018 Ashley Danguecan
- 2019 Not Awarded
- 2020 Rizwan Gohar
- 2021 Tamara Tavares
- 2022 Tamara Tavares

Summer Studentship

- 2015 Alexander Shephard | Veronica Birca | Violet Wu | Natalie Wiebe
- 2016 Bertrand Leduc | Mayuri Mahendran | Stellar Dongmin Lim | Tefani Perera
- 2017 Elisha Krauss
- 2018 Not Awarded

NON-TRAINEE AWARDS

Wilder Penfield Gold Medal Award - a life-time achievement award for excellence in Epilepsy research

- 1982 Theodore Rasmussen
- 1984 Brenda Milner
- 1986 Preston Robb
- 1987 Katherine and Julius Metrakos
- 1988 Juhn Wada
- 1990 Pierre Gloor
- 1997 Warren Blume
- 1999 Frederick Andermann
- 2001 Jean-Marc St Hilaire
- 2003 Peter Camfield
- 2005 Brenda Milner
- 2006 Jean Gotman
- 2007 Juhn Wada

- 2008 Jean Reiher
- 2009 Not Awarded
- 2010 Not Awarded
- 2011 Not Awarded
- 2012 Not Awarded
- 2013 Not Awarded
- 2014 Orlando Carter Snead III
- 2015 Richard McLachlan
- 2016 Not Awarded
- 2017 Massimo Avoli
- 2018 Not Awarded
- 2019 Alan Guberman
- 2020 Not Awarded
- 2021 Samuel Wiebe

Excellence in Research Award – to recognize research excellence by Canadian researchers in the field of epilepsy

- 2015 Neda Bernasconi
- 2016 Not Awarded
- 2017 Mary Pat McAndrews
- 2018 Not Awarded
- 2019 Dang Nguyen
- 2020 Not Awarded
- 2021 Jorge Burneo and Birgit Frauscher

Junior Investigator Award – to recognize a CLAE member within five years of their first academic appointment for outstanding contributions in epilepsy

- 2015 Elsa Rossignol
- 2016 Anne Gallagher
- 2017 Mark Ferro
- 2018 Mark Keezer and Colin Josephson (tie)
- 2019 Boris Bernhardt
- 2020 Alexander Weil
- 2021 Ken Myers
- 2022 George Ibrahim

Clinical Practice/Advocacy Award – honours a CLAE member in recognition for her/his excellence in clinical practice and/or engagement in representing and supporting patients with epilepsy.

- 2015 Mary Connolly
- 2016 Not Awarded
- 2017 Susan Rahey
- 2018 Not Awarded
- 2019 Jose Tellez-Zenteno | Mark Sadler
- 2020 Not Awarded
- 2021 Tadeu Fantaneanu and Philippe Major